Planning Scheme

Goondiwindi Regional Council, at a meeting held on Wednesday 27 May 2020, resolved to adopt Amendment No.1 to the Goondiwindi Region Planning Scheme 2020.  The Amended Planning Scheme will be effective from Friday 5 June 2020, and is available using the link below and for inspection and purchase at the following Customer Service Centres:

  • Civic Centre, 100 Marshall Street, Goondiwindi.
  • Council Chambers, 4 McLean Street, Goondiwindi.
  • Inglewood, 18 Elizabeth Street.
  • Texas, High Street.

The Planning Scheme can also be provided on USBs for purchase at the above Customer Service Centres.  For further enquiries in relation to the Goondiwindi Region Planning Scheme, please contact Council on (07) 4671 7400 during business hours.

Making a Development Application

Some development applications are relatively simple. Others will be very complex and you will need to use specialists to assist you in preparing the development application.

To submit an application, you will need to refer to  the local Planning Scheme.

What is a Planning Scheme?

A Planning Scheme is a document which sets out the controls and use of land that apply to land in the region. The Goondiwindi Regional Planning Scheme is the current planning scheme used in assessing development applications.

Below is the current planning scheme.

Goondiwindi Regional COUNCIL Planning Scheme Incorporating Amendment No.1

How do I use the Scheme?

Planning Schemes, like many mandatory documents, can be complex and confusing until familiarity is gained through regular use. The scheme is used to ascertain the zoning and criteria for your proposal. For example;

  • Refer to the Zones and category of use. For example, Rural Zone – Multiple dwelling.

Planning Scheme Zone Fact Sheets

  • Refer to the tables and follow the applicable Acceptable Outcomes required for that particular code.

Levels of Assessment

Next, you will need to determine the level of assessment required for your development.Different types of development may involve different levels of assessment. Your development may be:

  • Prohibited development - development for which a development application may not be made.
  • Assessable development - development for which a development approval is required:
    Code assessment - application to Council is required. The application is assessed against the applicable codes in the Planning Scheme. No public notification required.
    Impact assessment - application to Council is required. Assessment is based on the zoning of the land and its proposed impacts to surrounding land uses. Public Notification is required and submissions can be made for or against the application by a third party. Submissions received are taken into consideration during the decision making stage.
  • Accepted development (previously self-assessable development) - development for which a development approval is not required, where complying with each acceptable solution of the planning scheme.